L plates?


If I said I’d been productive in my blogging of late, I’d be lying. I was using spare space, and then it disappeared, and before I knew it, the habit had gone.

Now, despite huge tiredness, there is time again, before an early evening meeting. Time to exercise some discipline, so after Evening Prayer (an uncommon practice) I find myself pondering.

Today’s word is disciple, a word that it’s simplest means one who learns, even if that learning is more often thought of as following: following a Master both in the physical sense of accompaniment & the more practical sense of doing what is modelled or instructed.

Jesus was not unique in having disciples, accompanying learners. John the Baptist had them too. Other masters of thought, practice & philosophy had (& have them), though perhaps calling someone a disciple of Richard Dawkins or Jordan Peterson might be seen as somewhat disparaging.

Tonight at Philosophy Club we’re going to be thinking about Terry Pratchett, whose books are studded with insight & thought-provoking material, wrapped within humour & the absurd. That doesn’t mean we can’t learn from them, about ourselves, our world view, and about we are shaped as inhabitants of the world.

Last weekend I went to a wedding, in a rather conservative church. It reminded me of some viewpoints I’d left behind, or at least, nuanced. I have learned other ways, but need to be reminded that other opinions exist every so often. I must never cease to be a learner, a disciple. And neither should you…

L plates, are for life, you might say…

Leave a comment