jump to navigation

Short & sweet 16 March 2017

Posted by Dr Moose in Life, Ponderings.
trackback

shadowsSinful wretch that I am I failed to post an entry yesterday. It’s not that I didn’t write anything, as I had some time to wait in the car and put the smartphone to good use; but that’s still in draft form, an answer to a question a fearfully intelligent friend of mine of Anglo-Catholic persuasion asked me a few days ago.

Yesterdays word was hunger, something I should be experiencing now, as we haven’t yet eaten. (Thursdays are often days of dietary apartheid as LMP has County Junior Orchestra practice from 6pm). The first scriptural thoughts on the topic, as a good Christian, were those of Jesus as recorded in the Beatitudes, from the Sermon on the Mount in Matthew’s Gospel, Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” Perhaps the most appropriate thought actually came as I took an impromptu day off, starting with the sheer indulgence of not one, but two, proper coffees in the coffee shop of my choice, accompanied by the delights of a muffin. As I found myself writing in my little red notebook, “Whoever combined raspberry and white chocolate deserves my gratitude.”

I had a really good day, including the use of the family car (a rare treat). As I noted above though, I did fail to blog. I also haven’t looked up todays word of Lent Challenge. (Drum roll please!)

And the lucky word is….. family, that unit which is fractured for meals once or twice a week, including today! Family, the extended version of which is active even now as I sit writing this drivel while my Good Lady Wife talks to her mother on the phone.

I may reflect further and return to blog more, but suspect that the combined forces of hunger and family may rather torpedo that, leaving the shortest (non-poetic) post for quite a while!

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

