jump to navigation

The day before the day before the end of the year 2012 30 December 2012

Posted by Dr Moose in Life.
trackback

The day before the day before the end of the year is drawing towards it’s close, and for the first time in a number of years I actually feel far enough ahead of myself, or insufficiently enraptured by work, to even think of some sort of review of the past or thoughts for the future. This, is, of course, something of a double-edged sword, and something I feel understandably ambivalent about. I am somewhat afraid to look back at any previous years’ irresolutions as I strongly suspect I will have roundly “failed”, or at least “gone nowhere” over the intervening months. The temptation is simply to ignore things, but I probably yield to too many temptations already!

Even without looking back yet I can look forward. The year ahead holds some certainties. My older daughter will start Secondary School in September and we will be moving house. Neither of those are really options. Then I looked back over the blogs from the past, especially this one from 3rd January 2011, and can say, sadly and unsurprisingly, that with only a couple of exceptions, very little has changed. Time is passing with frightening speed!

I am still me, in danger of dithering and prevarication, prone to distraction and too much drink, wishing for time to do more and then failing to make good on it. I’m certainly happier than I was now I’m Full-Time Chaplain, but once again change can only come through application, and the devil is always in the details.

See, I didn’t quite say it would be a waste of time when I started, but that’s half an hour of my life I won’t get back!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

