jump to navigation

Downcast Friday 23 November 2012

Posted by Dr Moose in Chaplaincy, Church, Life, University.
trackback

Not an uplifting title, certainly, but true somehow. It’s been a busy week, what with both the regular and occasional Chaplaincy things.

What with some quite intense discussions taking place over on my Facebook page, some impassioned and convoluted wranglings in the Church of England’s General Synod and a well-attended Interfaith Dialogue Event at University there has been plenty to exercise the brain, even if insufficient time to document it, or even to tie up loose ends.

In Facebookland I seem to have lately re-started the habit of finding thought-provoking topics, releasing them into the wild and then retreating to minimum safe distance. A friend of mine, quite rightly wonders when I might make my stance known, and how ‘informed’ some of my Facebook friends positions actually are. It’s not an unreasonable question, and no, I still haven’t got round to answering it.

Back in the “real” world, there have been the debates and distress over the vexed issue of ordaining women as bishops in the Church of England. And to continue the theme I allowed my name to be known out in the wild as a signatory of a recent letter of support published in The Independent newspaper.

And yet, I am downcast. It could be simple tiredness, of course.

Nevertheless I find it notable that with so many friends, colleagues and contacts in touch through social media, with whom I have agonised, discussed and prayed over the recent moves in General Synod and the continued delay in the ordination of women as bishops, in my day to day ministry as University Chaplain, I have been reminded about the overwhelming lack of interest or concern among the sector of the populace the University represents. Beyond a couple of personal conversations, and the briefest Inter-Faith conversation with visitors to the University, there has been pretty much no comment whatsoever.

It is true that I’m not as well-connected around the Uni as I might like, but nevertheless it’ s a salutary reminder of our status… or lack of it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

