jump to navigation

Spoiling for a change? 12 November 2012

Posted by Dr Moose in Grumbles, Life, Ponderings.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This week I shall probably do something for the first time. I can’t say that it’s anything particularly exciting, but will still be a first time. I’m not a huge fan of elections, nevertheless they are civic responsibility. I think I have only ever missed voting in one and that was after I found I could not get home to vote. If I have the right for my voice to be heard I really should use it. But what do you do if there is no real choice, if you feel the choice is really rather pointless? I refer, of course, to be forthcoming Police and Crime Commissioners election. On the one hand we have been told that to save money there is very little printed material available, yet on the other, any material will be available online but at minimal notice. Add into the equation that
party politics has become involved where Independents were expected to stand, and the whole thing seems a rather pointless mess. It strikes me that this is an ideal time for a “re-open nominations box” within the voting form, something I am familiar with from many university Students’ Union elections. But, of course this is not an option. The only course of action that seems left open for me, is to do something new: spoiling my ballot. I wonder how many others will do the same?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

