jump to navigation

So, Sunday… 5 August 2012

Posted by Dr Moose in Church, Faith, Life.
trackback

Well, it finally happened (cue Freddy Mercury… “I’m slightly mad”)… no. not that! (that’s not news, I’m mad already). Instead, my final Sunday in the Parish.

A small 8am congregation, with me feeling rather under the weather, words of thanks from the former PCC member and editor of the Parish Magazine, sharing the Peace instead of simply saying the invitation and doing nothing.

There was a good showing at 10am for an All-Age (read “contemporary language”) Morning Worship and Holy Communion (about 50 adults and children combined) that just all came together beautifully. The hymns, which I didn’t choose, hit the spot. The readings, which I didn’t choose, had all the right elements, to encourage the congregation to see that they were chosen and loved and that it wasn’t all about me. As a whole piece it was just “right” and the cake afterwards was good too!  I will be sorry to leave, but at the same time I will be delighted to go. I have tried to do my best for the parish for the last 5 years, but at the same time I’ve always known that the call has been to Higher Education Chaplaincy. Overall then, very mixed feelings.

And that’s without the Baptism in the afternoon, which was simply a delight. The mum had been bringing the young man for months (even if I only ask for a few weeks) and so he knew who I was, and was totally at home and well behaved. For him, and indeed, for them all, all I can do now is commend them to God’s care. They already have all the gifts and skills they need to move ahead, and in retrospect there has been so much positive change over the last 5 years.

All I need now is to buy a house (after a suitable holiday), and we might just have found one… wish me luck, and spare a prayer!

Comments»

1. tzunder (@tzunder) - 4 September 2012

I wish you luck and all the best!


Leave a Reply

