jump to navigation

Old song, perennial challenge. 24 April 2012

Posted by Dr Moose in Faith, Life, Ponderings, Time.
trackback

Today I played and sang the old classic “When a knight won his spurs” for a school assembly (doing St George and so on, a day late). I probably haven’t sung it since I was a child, although I might have drawn on it for inspiration at some point in school assemblies. The children knew it and loved it – and God help me, so did I, and so do I still. Jan Stuther has a lot to answer for! (In a good way). Looking back I’m struck by its simplicity but yet its imagination.

When a knight won his spurs in the stories of old,
He was gentle and brave, he was gallant and bold;
With a shield on his arm and a lance in his hand,
For God and for valour he rode through the land.

No charger have I, and no sword by my side,
Yet still to adventure and battle I ride,
Though back into storyland giants have fled,
And the knights are no more and the dragons are dead.

Let faith be my shield and let joy be my steed
‘Gainst the dragons of anger, the ogres of greed;

And let me set free, with the sword of my youth,

From the castle of darkness, the power of the truth.

It’s not about nostalgia, or misty-eyed “Englishness”, it’s more about the challenge of living up to our personal values, and in my case especially, the faith I claim. It lacks much of contemporary hymnody’s trendiness or fluff, but I remain inspired by it and gratefulfor it. How much more good stuff have we lost or forgotten about, I wonder? Even if I can no longer claim”youth”. (I must be getting old, or something!)

Comments»

1. Tim Hall - 25 April 2012

I haven’t heard that one for a long, long time. They really don’t write them like that any more, which is a pity.


Leave a Reply

