jump to navigation

What were you doing when… 30 August 2008

Posted by Dr Moose in Memes.
trackback

Thanks to Kathryn for this – Five events and a chance to record the impact they had on you:

Princess Diana’s death – 31 August 1997

I was staying with in the flat above The Sultan in Lancaster, possibly with GLW, although it was before we were married, and I remember Howard waking me up shouting, “Princess Di’s been killed in a car crash!” I think I told him the pull other one. Once I realised it really was true and that journalists were being blamed I remember thinking how ironic it was that one who had so courted, or used, publicity over the last few unhappy years was also killed by it. Shame it was the same day as the wedding of two of my friends – it really didn’t help them very much. I never anticipated such an “un-British” reaction. I’m not sure I really understand it even now.

Margaret Thatcher’s resignation – 22 November 1990

I was working as a Groundsman for a property the church was working on, The Fauns at Ivybridge, Devon. It was an Old People’s Home and shortly after the church took it over to turn into the Headquarters of the Elim Ministers’ Pension Fund. Lee and I were doing not a lot, (clearing the upper floor of an old barn if I remember correctly, and I strongly suspect that we were quite lucky that the floor didn’t give way beneath us!) I remember being quite elated at the final downfall of Mrs T after all the trouble (as I saw it) that she’d brought to the country. I think the Thatcher years had a lot to do with cementing my political attitudes!

Attack on the twin towers – 11 September 2001

I was doing my curacy in Oadby on the edge of Leicester and my diary suggests I’d been to Little Fishes, our parent and toddler service. My most vivid memories are of the pictures of the planes’ impacts and the thought that it was the sort of special effect you’d expect in a Hollywood disaster movie, and whether the weird familiarity might have de-sensitised us to such things. Shortly afterwards I found myself wondering why it had taken terrorists so long to think of it, and also getting really annoyed by the bad English of the “world changing on 11th September” when what was meant was that the way we saw the world had changed.

England’s World Cup Semi Final v Germany in – 4 July 1990
I must have been in Plymouth, scratching a living after finishing my Geography Degree. I have no memory of it, so even if I watched it, possibly with the folks I was in the band with (Ibaadoe), it obviously didn’t make much of an impression.

President Kennedy’s Assassination – 22 November 1963
There is no way I can have any memory of this – it pre-dates my existence!

Comments»

1. stcasserole - 31 August 2008

Happy to hear from you, Dr.Moose.

2. Helen - 31 August 2008

It was good to meet you too! Sort of nice to know you’re real 🙂

The only two of the above I remember are Princess Diana and the Twin Towers, possibly because when the others happened I was either too young or not alive. Actually, I vaguely remember Thatcher’s resignation, but not really. Neither of those memories seem terribly interesting, although I do remember the weird inappropriate first thoughts that come in before people realise what’s happened… what’s that all about anyway? When something quite bad has happened I usually manage to at least realise it’s bad straight away, but something catastrophically bad usually takes long enough that the rest of my brain has already thought up some quips about it…

Anyway, I shall stop rambling in your comments!

Hope you’re well 🙂


Leave a Reply

